National Association for cooperatives of South Africa is a Secondary Co-operative Ltd (NACSA) which was registered in 2018  with the CIPC and issued registration certificates no 1801044525. The Secondary Co-operative  was subsequently registered with the South African Revenue Services and issued with tax certificate no 554774183. 

NACSA Secondary Co-operative Ltd was founded by two primary cooperatives. NACSA is owned and governed by its members through delegated personnel from its membership.

To date, the cooperative is managed, owned and controlled by more than Eight (8) cooperatives including Financial services cooperatives (SACCOs) around South Africa and Lesotho. NACSA secondary cooperative is a support organisation for all primary cooperatives, and in the process of applying for registration and cooperative banks support accreditation, as per the Cooperative banks act.

The secondary cooperative is providing support, representation and membership to primary cooperatives in different business industries within the cooperatives Sector. Trough collaboration at primary level, and only if necessary, a legal entity shall be established specifically for such industry to fulfil any desired business objectives.

Our Board of Directors

Below are  the board of directors and the  Supervisory Committee Members for the secondary cooperative

Mr Francis Selialia 

Mr Francis Selialia from  Gauteng province, He is the chairperson at Mmetlakhola FSC and He graduated MA in Economics & Postgraduate Diploma in Economic Sciences, University College Dublin, Ireland. Mr Francis has more than 30 years working experience within the sector

Ms Nontuthuzelo Faku 

Ms Nontuthuzelo Faku from the Eastern Cape province, She is the Chairperson at Masihlume Sacco and She has more than 35 years working experience in the cooperative banking Sector.

Dr Mark Mpasa 
(Secretory general)

Dr Mark Mpasa from the Gauteng province, He is the Chairperson at Coop Congo FSC and He has more than 10 years working experience within the cooperative sector

Mr Patrick France 
Deputy Secretory

Mr Patrick France from the Eastern Cape Province, He is the secretory general at  Mayibuye Sacco and He has more than 20 years working experience within the Cooperative banking sector.

Ms Thembi Mabaso 
(Board Member)

Ms Thembi Mabaso from Gauteng province, She is the Managing Director at Poplar Frontline CFI and she has more than 10 years working experience within the cooperative banking sector. She is a qualified teacher, facilitator, moderator and assessor, accredited by ETDP.


Our Supervisory Committee Members

As much as we have and are still learning from our neighbouring counties like Swaziland, Lesotho and Zimbabwe, our secondary cooperative has supervisory members from SACCOs in Lesotho.
Peoples Sacco
Peoples Sacco from Lesotho, The heard of IT Department for Peoples Sacco and working experience with SACCOs, a software engineer by profession. 
Mrs Masenate Seetsa
Mrs Masenate Seetsa from Lesotho, She is the Chairperson for Blessings Sacco and She has more than 20 years working experience within the SACCO sector.
Cooperative Objectives

  • Support and promote cooperative programs, projects and operations 
  • Develop, review and participate in cooperative programs and projects 
  • Develop, promote and facilitate community development programs and projects  
Integrated stakeholder Relations

Through our member’s needs and diversity, and as per the objectives of the cooperative, we have and are in the process of developing supportive associations with key participants within and for the development of SADC Co-operative Movement.

Below is the list of other participants we pursue for a successful collaboration and efforts that are directed towards community and economic development (Partnership), via the cooperative model as delivery vehicle.

The list includes amongst others… 

§  National Association for Cooperative Financial Institutions of South Africa
§   (NPTCSA)
§  National Development Agency (NDA) 
§  Department of Small Business Development (DSBD)
§  Department of Economic Development (DED)
§ Bank Sectoral Education and Training Authority (BANKSETA)
§  Small Enterprise Financial Agency (SEFA) 
§  National Youth Development Agency (NYDA) 
§ Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET)
§  Co-operative Banks Development Agency (CBDA)
§  Small Enterprise Development Agency (SEDA) 
§  Gert Sibande Cooperative Movement Forum  

Our Mission and Vision 

Our Mission…  To be the most diverse and sustainable support secondary cooperative in Africa which provides reliable and 
                            affordable services and products that empowers and develops in its members   

Our Vision... To promote and implement cooperative principles & values, Link cooperative development objectives, Provide technical and 
                         operational support .